The White House says nearly 1 million Affordable Care Act enrollees in 30 states will receive a $500 refund check starting in October, drawn from what the administration calls a surplus in the fees that fund the federal insurance exchange. The catch sits in the eligibility line: the payment goes only to enrollees who received no premium tax credit and therefore paid the full cost of their marketplace plan out of pocket. That inverts how most Affordable Care Act relief works, where subsidies flow to lower earners rather than to those paying full price.
Who Actually Qualifies For The $500 Check
The White House fact sheet puts the number at $500 per person for nearly 1 million enrollees, distributed across the 30 states that rely on the federally run marketplace rather than a state-based exchange. Those states include Texas, Florida, Ohio, Michigan, and Wisconsin, along with two dozen others where HealthCare.gov, not a separate state site, handles enrollment. Checks are due to start going out in October 2026, according to the fact sheet, though no specific mailing schedule beyond the start month has been published.
The eligibility rule narrows the group sharply. Only enrollees who received no premium tax credit — meaning they paid the sticker price for their marketplace plan without help — qualify for the refund. A premium tax credit lowers a monthly bill for people whose household income falls in a set range, so anyone who used one to cut their premium does not receive this check, even if they live in one of the 30 named states.
That structure runs opposite to how most Affordable Care Act assistance works. Premium tax credits are aimed at people with modest incomes who need help affording coverage, while this refund is aimed at the smaller group that paid the full premium without any credit — often people whose income sits above the credit threshold or who simply did not apply for one. The refund is not tied to income directly, but in practice it separates a household that qualified for subsidized coverage from one on the same exchange that paid full price for a similar plan.
The fact sheet frames the refund as correcting a decision made under the previous administration, arguing federal exchange fees were set well above what was needed to operate HealthCare.gov and that the resulting surplus should not have accumulated in the first place. It does not specify the total dollar size of the surplus being returned, only the per-person amount and the roughly 1 million recipient count across the 30 states.
Free retirement updates: Social Security and Medicare change every year, and nobody sends you a memo. Our free Retirement Shield newsletter breaks down what changed and what to do. Get it free in your inbox.
Where The Refund Money Actually Comes From
The money did not come from general tax revenue or from insurance companies absorbing a loss. It comes from fees the federal exchange itself collects from insurers who sell marketplace plans, fees built into the premiums enrollees pay each month. The administration’s account is that the previous administration ran those fees higher than necessary to operate the exchange, building a surplus instead of adjusting the fee down or crediting it back to enrollees at the time.
Because the surplus sat inside exchange operating funds rather than a state treasury or an insurer’s balance sheet, the refund only reaches the 30 states where the federal government runs the exchange directly. States that operate their own marketplace — California, New York, and about a dozen others — set and collect their own exchange fees, so this particular refund does not apply there regardless of a resident’s income or credit status.
What Happens Between Now And The October Checks
The fact sheet does not specify which federal office will mail the checks, what documentation an enrollee might need, or whether a qualifying enrollee must do anything to receive the payment. It also does not describe an appeals process for someone who believes they qualify but is left off a distribution list built from marketplace enrollment records.
An enrollee unsure whether they took a premium tax credit can check their own paperwork: IRS Form 8962 reconciles any premium tax credit claimed against actual income when a federal tax return is filed. Someone who paid full price without ever applying for assistance during enrollment is the clearest case for the refund; someone who received even a partial credit is not eligible under the terms the fact sheet describes.
An enrollee who is unsure whether their state uses the federal exchange can check their own enrollment: anyone who signed up for a 2026 marketplace plan through HealthCare.gov directly, rather than through a separate state-run site, is in one of the 30 states named in the announcement. The list runs from Alabama and Alaska through Wyoming, and includes larger states such as Texas, Florida, Ohio, and Michigan alongside smaller ones such as Wyoming, North Dakota, and Delaware.
Open enrollment for 2027 marketplace coverage begins November 1, a few weeks after the October checks are due to start, so many of the same enrollees will soon be deciding whether to keep, adjust, or drop full-price coverage for the year ahead — a decision the fact sheet’s $500 figure does not by itself resolve.
The Programs Older Households Miss
Separately from any one-time refund check, several ongoing programs exist to lower a fixed-income household’s monthly costs regardless of ACA marketplace status. LIHEAP energy help can offset a winter heating bill, a state property-tax freeze can stop a rising home assessment from raising an older owner’s tax bill, and Extra Help lowers what a Medicare Part D enrollee pays at the pharmacy counter. Each runs on its own eligibility rules, separate from anything tied to a marketplace refund.
The Benefits Checklist walks through all 11 of these programs across 69 pages, listing the 2026 income limits for each one alongside a 50-state phone directory for the offices that administer them.
See which of these programs a household already qualifies for in The Benefits Checklist.
This article was researched and drafted with AI assistance and reviewed against primary sources before publication.